Ian Sansom - The Norfolk Mystery

The Norfolk Mystery

Written by: Ian Sansom

The first book in The County Guides to Murder series.

The County Guides to Murder are a series of detective novels set in 1930s England.

The books are an odyssey through England and its history.

In each county, the protagonists – Stephen Sefton, a veteran of the Spanish Civil War, and his employer, the People’s Professor, Swanton Morley – solve a murder.

The first book is set in Norfolk. The murder is in the vicarage.

There are 39 books – and 39 murders – to follow.

THE NORFOLK MYSTERIES was published on 6th June 2013 by Fourth Estate (HarperCollins).

‘A delightful, idiosyncratic mystery set in the Thirties … There is a touch of Sherlock Holmes and a dash of Lord Peter Wimsey, but the total is put together with a charm that is teasingly precious … Beautifully crafted by Sansom, Professor Morely promises to become a little gem of English crime writing; sample him now’
– Daily Mail

‘Sansom is both celebrating and sending up the golden age of detective novels when, in the 1930s, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie were the queens of crime … A brilliant first outing that leaves you looking forward to the next maniacal mystery tour’
– Mark Sanderson, Evening Standard